Secondary Guidance



Information for schools about secondary school accountability measures, including Progress 8 and Attainment 8 can be viewed here.

There are links to various other KS4 relevant information as well as a 3 minute video explaining Progress 8.

From August 2017, the new qualifications began being awarded with number grades, rather than letters. The new grading scale runs from 9 to 1 instead of A* to G, with 9 the highest grade.

Not all GCSEs are changing at once – English language, English literature and maths were the first to change, with students sitting these exams in the summer of 2017. By 2020, all GCSEs in England will be graded using numbers instead of letters.

Find out more information by clicking here.

There is also a video on the the youtube channel.

GCSEs (Key Stage 4)

Statistics: GCSEs (key stage 4)

Statistics from May 2010 onwards are available on GOV.UK. The following statistical analyses are available:

  • GCSE and equivalent results, including pupil characteristics
  • GCSE and equivalent results
  • Attainment by pupil characteristics
  • Secondary school performance tables
  • Pupil attainment progress

16 to 19 Attainment

16 to 19 Attainment

Statistics on the attainment of 16- to 19-year-olds in England, including exam results and performance tables. The following statistics are available:

  • A levels and other 16 to 18 results
  • 16 to 18 school and college performance tables
  • Qualification success rates
  • Proportion of courses completed at school and academy sixth forms
  • Level 1 and 2 attainment
  • Level 2 and 3 attainment


T Level Action Plan


Scroll to top